Canadian Orders: Flat-Rate Shipping on Orders over $75 | Orders Over $150 Ship Free!

Liquid error: Argument error in tag 'include' - Illegal template name

There's a Tiger In The Garden

A gorgeous and imaginative debut picture book by author/illustrator Lizzy Stewart, perfect for fans of Emily Hughes, Peter Brown, and Julie Morstad.

There's nothing to do at Grandma's house and Nora refuses to believe any outlandish tales of dragonflies as big as birds, grumpy polar bears who like to fish, or a magnificent tiger all allegedly residing in Grandma's garden. Nora's too old for silly games. But this charming picture book proves you are never too young or too old to dream - and adventure can find you when you least expect it.

When Grandma says she's seen a tiger in the garden, Nora doesn't believe her. She's too old to play Grandma's silly games! Everyone knows that tigers live in jungles, not gardens.

So even when Nora sees dragonflies as big as birds, and plants that try to eat her toy giraffe, and a polar bear that likes fishing, she knows there's absolutely, DEFINITELY no way there could be a tiger in the garden . . .

Could there?

    Pages: 40

    Ages 4-7

    By Lizzy Stewart

    Praise:

    'Nora is bored, and when Grandma tells her that there’s a tiger in her garden—as well as “dragonflies the sizes of birds and plants that can swallow you up whole!”—the girl is both skeptical and annoyed. “I’m too old for silly games!” she says. But readers can see a tiger tail poking out from the foliage, and since there’s nothing else to do, Nora sallies forth. First-time author-illustrator Stewart portrays the garden with a Rousseaulike lushness and fantasy: dragonflies fill the sky with wings that look like stained-glassed windows, and among the flora are hungry-looking plants that resemble bright red lips with teeth. It may take readers a little while to warm to Nora, who initially seems more bratty than independent minded, but Stewart believably traces her thawing attitude in a way that shows how a bit of open-mindedness (and nudging) can lead to rewarding and unexpected adventures. And Nora more than meets her match in the sleek, unruffled tiger, who Grandma later admits might just be a ginger cat. “Are you real?” Nora asks. “I don’t know,” the tiger replies. “Are you?”' — Publishers Weekly

    "This British import reminds readers that boredom is just a state of mind and adventure awaits in outdoor play." — School Library Journal




      Related Items